The Museum showcases Adelaide Arcade’s colourful history. Set up on the balcony level of the Arcade, explore artefacts, photographs, newspaper clippings, trinkets and even an accordion that plays the official ‘Adelaide Arcade Polka’.
Founded in 1979, the Adelaide Colonial Dancers aim to preserve, revive and teach colonial dances, thus also fostering the charm of yesteryear. Colonial dances are those social dances popular in Australia from European settlement to Federation, includi
Step back in time at the Adelaide Gaol. Built in 1841, the Gaol is one of South Australia’s oldest original buildings. A fascinating look into prison life and conditions. Rare artefacts, interactive displays, execution sites and much more. Informative historic tours are conducted on a regular basis. Public ghost tours are also readily available. Read more about Adelaide Gaol >
Formed in 1984 by a group with a common interest in preserving the machinery of our past in particular cars, motorcycles, trucks, tractors, stationary engines and machinery manufactured in South Australia. The club's annual rally 'Power of the Past' is held on the first weekend in March at the Mount Barker Oval.
Immerse yourself in Lithuanian culture and history in the only museum of its kind in Australia. Much more than colourful costumes, the Adelaide Lithuanian Museum seeks to depict aspects of Lithuanian life and culture. Exhibits incude Lithuanian art and crafts, stamps, amber, artifacts and military items. An extensive collection of material relating to the community in Adelaide has been preserved.
Discover what is behind one of the most imposing facades on North Terrace, the heritage-listed Grand Lodge and learn about South Australia’s oldest organisation, the intriguing ancient society of Freemasonry. The museum displays its collections on several floors including items belonging to Australia’s most renowned inland explorer, John McDouall Stuart.
Based at Salisbury’s former police station, now the Salisbury TAFE Heritage Centre, the group encourages, develops and promotes the interest of researching Family History by having regular guest speakers and help nights, historical displays and lectures.
Promoting interest in the history and heritage of the Angaston and Penrice region of the Barossa Valley, the A&PHS has a small archive and photographic collection; meets monthly in the Old Union Chapel and mans the heritage listed A&H Doddridge Blacksmith Shop, one of only a few operational ‘smithies’ in existence in South Australia.
At Annie Doolan’s Cottage you will learn about the early history of the cottage and the people who lived there. The building is currently managed by the Friends of Annie Doolan’s Cottage and displays a schoolroom of the 1870s, a kitchen of the 1940s and a model of Marion Village in 1949.
Ardrossan Historical Museum is located in the powerhouse of the former factory of Clarence H. Smith, manufacturer of agricultural equipment and the famous stump jump plough. Learn about the Mosquito Fleet – the many ketches plying to Ardrossan; see relics from the Zanoni, which sank off Ardrossan in 1867, and much more.
We preserve, promote and display the military heritage of South Australia. Our Museum is located at the historic Keswick Barracks, ANZAC Highway, Keswick, Adelaide, South Australia. The Archives and Research Centre is open Wednesdays and Sundays. Volunteers develop projects and maintenance on Wednesdays.
Adelaide branch of the Australian Society for the Study of Labour History, which was founded to study "the working class situation ... and social history in the fullest sense", and to encourage teaching and research in labour history, and the preservation of the records of working people and the labour movement.
Discover this piece of World War II history painted with colourful murals of clowns and magicians down South Road in Torrensville. This former air raid shelter is now used by the Adelaide branch of the Australian Society of Magicians as their clubrooms and one can view displays of photographs and posters illustrating this group's history when open for performances.
Celebrating the life of Finnish boat builders Axel Stenross and Frank Laakso, who came to Port Lincoln on the SV Olivebank in 1927, the museum is on the waterfront and staffed by volunteers. Filled with maritime history, relics and artefacts from windjammer days, it has indoor and outdoor displays, including an operating slipway, historic vessels and a blacksmith shop.
Stunning Victorian mansion on Adelaide's North Terrace, designed by colonial architect Sir George Strickland Kingston, and the former home of distinguished politician and financier Sir Henry Ayers, who became premier of South Australia seven times during the nineteenth century. The collection is viewable on all three floors of the museum and is well worth a visit. Something for everyone.
Discover a wealth of history on the ‘Town of Quiet Surprises’. The Centenary Hall Folk Museum follows the lives of the people from a once industrial town through to Balaklava of today, a rural commercial, medical, educational and residential centre. The Urlwin Park site shows what made Balaklava the ‘Manufacturing Centre of the North’.
This local group of volunteers restored and maintain the 1930s stone Bowden’s Cottage on the edge of Para Wirra Recreation Park, in the foothills of the Mount Lofty ranges, complementing the national park’s Goldfields Walking trail. The small museum inside the cottage tells the goldmining story of the area.
Located in Tanunda's former Post & Telegraph building built in 1865, the museum is run by volunteers of the Barossa Valley Archives & Historical Trust and specialises in the German heritage of the area.
Formed in the late 1970s, this Association brought together the British boys who migrated to South Australia in the 1910s and 20s to participate in the State Government’s farm apprenticeship scheme. Although the original migrants have now passed on, their descendants continue to meet annually.
The Bay Discovery Centre and Holdfast Bay History Centre are funded by the City of Holdfast Bay to preserve, promote and interpret cultural heritage. Located at Glenelg in the former Town Hall, the Bay Discovery Centre features multimedia interpretive displays and changing exhibitions, with volunteers welcoming visitors to Adelaide’s most popular beach. The Holdfast Bay History Centre cares for the local history collection, conducts guided walks and assists people with family history research.
Housed in one of the Beachport’s oldest buildings, the Old Wool and Grain Store, the National Trust museum tells the story of the south east’s heritage including the whaling and fishing industries, farming and features a 1920s schoolroom and living accommodation of the early 1900s.
Located in the Southern Flinders Ranges, it is home to one of the largest collections of farm implements, tractors, stationary engines and steam exhibits in Australia. This usually static display comes to life at the end of March, when the Booleroo Centre Steam and Traction Preservation Society hosts its annual weekend rally. At the rally visitors experience the sights, smells and sounds of a bygone era.
Exquisite memorial stained-glass glass windows are a feature of the Brinkworth Museum: formerly a Catholic Church. Permanently displayed are religious items and records of all local churches. Enjoy documented railway history in the museum and interpreted along a town walk and the living herbarium of native flora by the museum.
Community-based group that promotes interest in the history of the City of Burnside, a loval government area in the eastern foothills of Adelaide, the capital of South Australia. Members can enjoy free monthly meetings and quarterly newsletters as well as half day or full day trips to points of historical interest; and a regional history tour every second year.
Beautifully restored, this late nineteenth-century cottage shows how everyday life in Murray Bridge and Districts used to be. Housing a large collection of historic photos and memorabilia, every display tells us a different story of pioneering life from the dairy industry, to the magic of the paddle steamers.
The historic estate of Carrick Hill in Springfield is an important part of South Australia’s heritage and provides unique experiences for visitors of all ages – from its Edwardian style architecture, stunning interiors and valuable art collection to the formal terraced gardens, extensive rose collection to the park like grounds and natural bushland of the Mitcham area. Read more about Carrick Hill >
Visit the ‘The Grange’ the former residence of Captain Charles Sturt and now a museum dedicated to this renowned explorer and Colonial administrator. Built in 1840 and an example of early Colonial style architecture, it was the first house of this type in the area then known as the Reedbeds, and gave the name to the suburb in which it stands.
Non-profit organisation intent on preserving the world heritage clipper ship City of Adelaide and transporting it back to South Australia from Scotland; as well as protecting and securing the ship under cover, and on land, in Port Adelaide; and to develop an accompanying interpretive centre.
Built in 1851 as the police barracks and courthouse, the museum was originally Clare’s first public building. It houses an extensive collection of Victorian costume, furniture, domestic memorabilia and photographs of the area with agricultural equipment and horse drawn carriages in the grounds.
Housed upstairs in the old Town Hall's former council chambers and Mayoral parlour on Clare’s main street, this extensive range of local church, school, council, cemetery and BDM records, photographs, newspapers and publications covering the history of Clare and the surrounding villages has been gathered and preserved by this community group since the 1980s.
Classic Jets Fighter Museum is South Australia’s only museum of military aviation. Do a walk around inspection of classic jet and propeller driven fighter aircraft. View displays of aviation memorabilia from the Pacific War up to the golden years of jet fighters. Follow the complex restoration of a US Navy marine Chance Voight F4U-1 Corsair fighter aircraft by the museum volunteers. Read more about Classic Jets Fighter Museum >
Come on a journey from the present to the past in agriculture. Clayton Farm is a farm that has stayed with the past. Old machinery, homestead and outbuildings allow people to see and learn about past farming methods or to reminisce.
See the world's only working Humphrey Pump restored along with a steam locomotive, a steam traction engine, stationary oil engines, tractors and machinery from the days of the early development of the irrigation areas; as well as the history of the nearby Loveday Internment camp, one of the largest in Australia.
Located in the town’s first double storey business house, the Crystal Brook Heritage Centre incorporates a unique underground bakehouse, a general store and a home for the business owner; and machinery sheds. On display are items relating to Crystal Brook people, events and businesses and to general eras past.