Presentation by Alison Painter. This presentation covers the progress of Cooper & Sons from 1882-2002 when Thomas Cooper, and later his descendants, operated the brewery on Statenborough Street. For many years they retained the old way of brewing and everything in the brewery reflected this. As the business increased there was some modernisation of both plant and brewing methods, but the old Sparkling Ale and Extra Stout remained the same. Coopers remains a family company, but the move to the modern complex at Regency Park in 2002 was necessary and the differences from the old brewery are remarkable.
Alison has enjoyed a long association with Coopers having started work there as laboratory assistant to Max Cooper in 1960. In 1977 she left to study at Flinders University, subsequently completing an Honours Degree in history. Alison’s thesis was a history of Coopers and the brewing industry in SA which, with additions, became the first edition of Jolly Good Ale and Old. Since then she has written other brewing histories.
Sundays 15 January, 19 February & 19 March 2017.
11am - 5pm.
Experience a 1920s garden party at 'Summer Sundays at Beaumont House' held in the beautifully restored and extensive gardens of Beaumont House, treat yourself to a devonshire tea on the veranda and browse our exclusive craft stalls.
Tuesdays, 10 am - 2 pm; 1 December 2016 - 30 June 2017
A wide selection of floral motif exhibits curated from the Guild museum collection to showcase the variety of forms and symbolic connotations of the various embroided flowers. Alongside the museum objects are museum team members' interpretations of the Language of Flowers.
Saturday 26 November 2016, from 2pm (official opening) - 9pm
Official opening of a room and display dedicated to the shipwrecked Barque Margaret Brock, marking the completion of renovations to the historic Cape Jaffa Lighthouse in the 40th anniversary year of its removal from Margaret Brock Reef to Marine Parade, Kingston SA.