Fridays 7 April, 12 & 26 May, 2 & 30 June 2017
6.30 - 7.30 pm
Step back in time to 1876. Join Butler (Mr Wilkins), Housekeeper (Mrs Galvin) and Cook (Mrs Jenkins) on this special visit to Ayers House. The Master and Lady are out for the evening and staff are ready to show you through the house as they prepare for an upcoming State Dinner. Tours are conducted by candlelight.
Presentation by Daniela Rose. Numerically, Italians are the largest group from a non-English speaking background in South Australia. Over 20 000 are first-generation settlers and around 90 000 South Australians are of Italian descent. The Italian language is the most common language spoken at home after English. This presentation will give an overview of the history of Italian settlement in South Australia in the context of Italian migration in the 19th and 20th centuries. It will consider their reasons for migrating to South Australia, their settlement patterns and the influence they had on Australian society.
Dr Daniela Rose is Senior Lecturer and Coordinator of the Italian Section in the Department of Languages and Applied Linguistics at Flinders University. Her primary areas of research are the history of Italian migration to South Australia and ageing in a foreign land. Her best-known publication, with Professor Desmond O’Connor, is Caulonia in the Heart. She has also published numerous scholarly articles nationally and internationally. She has recently edited the volume Ageing between cultures: the experiences and challenges of Italian migrants in South Australia.
Explore the Museum, outdoor displays and grounds, be tempted with a delicious bowl of strawberries, Devonshire Tea and yummy strawberry delights. Browse vintage wares for sale, visit the ‘all things strawberry’ table, play old time games, smash the strawberry piñata, enjoy an ice-cream and visit the Gift Shop.
Exhibition launch Saturday, 18 March 2017, 2 pm; Exhibition on show 18 March to 24 April, 2017.
Follow the journey of these 19 remarkable women from across the Murray Darling Basin and discover how they have shaped history along our mighty rivers. Exhibition to be opened by Robert Bowring OAM, Chair Mannum Dock Museum Board.
Presentation by Alison Painter. This presentation covers the progress of Cooper & Sons from 1882-2002 when Thomas Cooper, and later his descendants, operated the brewery on Statenborough Street. For many years they retained the old way of brewing and everything in the brewery reflected this. As the business increased there was some modernisation of both plant and brewing methods, but the old Sparkling Ale and Extra Stout remained the same. Coopers remains a family company, but the move to the modern complex at Regency Park in 2002 was necessary and the differences from the old brewery are remarkable.
Alison has enjoyed a long association with Coopers having started work there as laboratory assistant to Max Cooper in 1960. In 1977 she left to study at Flinders University, subsequently completing an Honours Degree in history. Alison’s thesis was a history of Coopers and the brewing industry in SA which, with additions, became the first edition of Jolly Good Ale and Old. Since then she has written other brewing histories.